Al’s Redwood Room

Al’s Redwood Room

Al’s Redwood Room has the distinction of being the oldest continually operated business in the charming town of Willits, CA.   The Redwood Room was originally part of the Willits Hotel, which opened its doors in 1901.  The Willits Hotel boasted the finest in modern improvements (missing only an elevator), to make it one of the most progressive, luxury establishments of the day.  It featured 100 rooms, a stunning six-foot fireplace, the finest dining found north of San Francisco and a gorgeous handcrafted bar.

The bar became Al’s Redwood Room in the early 1950’s when it was purchased by Al Greenburg.  Al hung the now-famous neon sign that continues to welcome patrons from all over the world.  Al’s Redwood Room has survived several fires, three location changes, Prohibition and numerous ownership changes.

Today, Al’s Redwood Room provides all the qualities of a historic tavern, including the storied fireplace and magnificent handcrafted bar.  In addition to being a full-service bar, you’ll enjoy creative, critically acclaimed American and Thai dishes served in a comfortable atmosphere, steeped with history and tradition.  Come visit us soon!  Just look on Main Street for Al’s original 1950’s neon sign, which has been restored to its original splendor.


  • Restaurant/Bar: Yes